Environment,my passion,my everything.

Not even once while growing up did i imagine myself  as a teacher.Teaching to me was  a dreadful profession. Imagine the students mimicking you,nicknaming you and the hatred you get from punishing them for a wrong done.Oh!Respect to all the teachers.

As i grew up,i pictured myself working in a posh office (at least everyone does),little did i know my passion for the environment would land me in the teaching field.

SAM_3213

Well, wondering how this passion came about,during my early years i lived  in the countryside( a land  which was abundant with shrubs, creepers, ferns and trees.And yes rain fell regularly and reliably),with my late grandmother Mrs Prudenciana Akumu(Rest in peace Mama), who happened to be  a midwife and a herbalist as well.So, i would accompany her whenever she was going about her duties-going round looking for herbs to treat various illnesses.

1602069_700752343279220_783669096_o

My inquisitive nature, led  to the birth of  the  passion in environment.This passion heightened a notch higher in my high school years as biology turned out to be my favorite subject and in the university i took environmental resource management as my study area.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The late Wangari Maathai (also known as mama miti) once said,“It’s the little things citizens do. That’s what will make the difference. My little thing is planting trees.”

I love teaching people about nature and how to conserve it.The satisfaction i get by doing is just heavenly.I live each day knowing i have impacted someone’s life in a positive way be it by teaching them the importance of trees,birds,rivers and the ecosystem as a whole.

DSCN1769

I am the kind of girl,who would rather sit in the middle of a forest reading books about birds,or smelling flowers than go clubbing.Yes,nature has impacted my life that much. SAM_2159

I  envision  a world full of trees,birds,beautiful butterflies,bumble bees,clean rivers and lakes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A challenge to the to you all, as each day ends,ask yourself what is that one thing i have done that makes a difference or the one thing you will do to make a difference. And keep in mind,it’s not always about what you do,it’s about how you do it.So go out there  and make the world a better place,of course by planting trees literally.*wink*

 

 

Leave a Reply

